Home 5 Inductee 5 Miron Ray

Miron Ray

Ray Miron
Sport: Multisports
Year Inducted: 1969

Ray Miron, born in 1923, began his hockey career in the O.C.O.T. leagues. He started coaching at 14 years of age. He also played hockey, basketball, and football for CCVS teams.

Ray coached the Cornwall Falcons in 1945, 46, and 47, the Cardinals (Cardinal Ontario Senior Cascos)in 1948, and the Colts in 1954, 55, and 56.

He was GM of the Cornwall Chevies in the Quebec Provincial League and later in the OHA eastern Sr. “A” division during most of the 50’s. Ray was GM of the Washington Presidents of the Eastern Hockey League in 59-60, then the New Jersey Larks the following season. Miron managed the Knoxville Team in E.H.L. in 1962, 63, 64, and 65. In 1964, Miron joined the Toronto Maple Leaf organization, managing its affiliate teams in Tulsa, Olka. and Oklahoma City through 1976.

Ray was inducted into the Cornwall Sports Hall of Fame in 1969.

Miron was President of the Central Hockey League for 2 months in late 1976. He then worked under three different Rockies owners in the NHL between 1976 and 1981 before moving back home to Tulsa. The most notable was his position as General Manager of the Colorado Rockies.

Ray took on the Commissioner’s job with the Atlantic Coast League in 1983 after which time he retired. In 1987, Miron moved on to the East Coast League.

Miron founded the new CHL in 1992 and was part owner of the 6 teams that made up the league at that time. It was a very novel approach that succeeded beyond their wildest dreams. Ray’s son, Monte, was the Commissioner and Ray was President until they both resigned in 1997. They sold their stock to sports guru Horn Chen, who was also one of the original investors.

Ray was awarded the NHL’s 2004 Lester Patrick Trophy – an award given to those who provided outstanding service to hockey in the United States. He was selected by a committee of NHL officials, Hall of Fame members and others. John Davidson and Mike Emrick also received the award in 2004. Past recipients include Wayne Gretzky, Mario Lemieux, and Ray Bourque.